Hello world!

March 20th, 2012

Hey there!

My name is Sarah Eye and I am a senior History major at the University of Mary Washington.  I am currently working on my senior thesis about the Oracle of Delphi in ancient Greece and plan to graduate in May of 2012.

I was born and raised in the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia and I can honestly say that I have worked hard to get where I am and I could not be happier with where I am heading.  When I first started to attend Mary Washington, I was a prospective Biology major because I had grown up around horses and other small animals.  Furthermore, I had worked at our local vet as a Veterinary Assistant and also worked at the Virginia Wildlife Center as a volunteer/mentorship student.  Helping animals is what I had wanted to do.  It did not take me long to realize that I did not want to watch animals die that I could not save, and I finally declared myself a History major.  I have always loved History and find that after I graduate, I can help children learn to love it as well as I plan to be a teacher wherever I move with my future Marine husband.  I especially want to teach the history of ancient civilizations such as Greece, Egypt and Rome as ancient history is where my heart lies!

Other than my interest in history, I have an extreme love and passion for equestrian sports, photography and art.  I participated on the Mary Washington Equestrian team my entire freshman year, and only stopped after I brought my own horse up to Fredericksburg with me Sophomore year.  When I first started earning money, I purchased my first very own horse and now own two horses that I keep working very hard to maintain.  It may be hard work – but it is definitely worth it.  I have worked as an Assistant Trainer to a local barn in my hometown and have trained horse for several clients.  I also have had a lesson program in the past for children in my area.  I also love photography and art.  I have a Canon Rebel TI film camera that I have had since Freshman year of high school and I still love using it.  Of course, the only thing that I can draw or paint is horses – but that is okay because it is what I love!

After I graduate, I plan on moving down to North Carolina with my future husband and to apply for teaching jobs in the Havelock/New Bern area.  Until I find a job, I have a job lined up as a Barn Manager/Trainer/Instructer at a local barn where I will be boarding my horses – however, this is only temporary! After my wedding, I plan on applying to graduate schools and hopefully getting my Masters in Education or even possibly moving into studying law.